INFO FOR


Home | Technology | About BCA Green Mark Scheme
ABOUT BCA GREEN MARK SCHEME

INTRODUCTION

The BCA Green Mark Scheme was launched in January 2005 as an initiative to drive Singapore's construction industry towards more environment-friendly buildings. It is intended to promote sustainability in the built environment and raise environmental awareness among developers, designers and builders when they start project conceptualisation and design, as well as during construction.



BENEFITS OF GREEN MARK

BCA Green Mark provides a meaningful differentiation of buildings in the real estate market. It is a benchmarking scheme which incorporates internationally recognized best practices in environmental design and performance. This can have positive effect on corporate image, leasing and resale value of buildings. Benefits of BCA Green Mark include:

  • Facilitate reduction in water and energy bills,
  • Reduce potential environmental impact,
  • Improve indoor environmental quality for a healthy and productive workplace,
  • Provide clear direction for continual improvement.

 

APPLICATIONS AND ASSESSMENT PROCESS

Developers, building owners and government agencies would have to submit an application form to BCA to register their interest in participating in the BCA Green Mark Scheme.

BCA assessment team will have a preliminary meeting with the project team or building management team to brief on the criteria and request for relevant reports and documentary proofs to substantiate the subsequent submissions.

Actual assessment will be conducted on a later date once the team are ready. The assessment will include design and documentary reviews as well as site verification. Documentary evidences are to be submitted at the end of the assessment. Upon completion of the assessment, a letter of award showing the certification level of the projects will be sent to the team.

Click to view BCA Green Mark Scheme Assessment Criteria and Online Application

For General Enquiries on Application and Fees, please contact
Mr Charles at Tel 6325 5198 / charles_ong@bca.gov.sg. (New Development)
Ms Pearlyn Lee at Tel 6325 5957 / pearlyn_lee@bca.gov.sg. (New Development)
Ms Rohana Haron at Tel 6325 5083 / rohana_haron@bca.gov.sg. (Existing Buildings)
Ms Eunice Sim at Tel 6325 5956 / eunice_sim@bca.gov.sg. (Existing Buildings)

For any clarification on the BCA Green Mark Scheme, please contact:
Category Contact Person Contact Details
New Non-Residential buildings Mr Lim San Teng lim_san_teng@bca.gov.sg
Dr Lim Siew Mei lim_siew_mei@bca.gov.sg
Mr Leow Yock Keng leow_yock_keng@bca.gov.sg
New Residential buildings Ms Lee Sui Fung lee_sui_fung@bca.gov.sg
Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Ms Denise Kwok denise_kwok@bca.gov.sg

Existing Non- Residential buildings

Mr Md Halim Anapi md_halim_anapi@bca.gov.sg
Mr Kong Jia Hng kong_jia_hng@bca.gov.sg
Ms Tracy Liu tracy_liu@bca.gov.sg
Existing Residential Buildings Mr Lee Jang Young lee_jang_young@bca.gov.sg
Landed Houses Ms Grace Cheok-Chan grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg
Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Existing Schools Mr Kong Jia Hng kong_jia_hng@bca.gov.sg
Ms Tracy Liu tracy_liu@bca.gov.sg
New and Existing Parks Mr Benjamin Huang benjamin_huang@bca.gov.sg
Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Infrastructure Dr Gao Chun Ping gao_chun_ping@bca.gov.sg
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Rapid Transit Systems Ms Grace Cheok-Chan grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg
District Dr Gao Chun Ping gao_chun_ping@bca.gov.sg
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Mr Benjamin Towell benjamin_towell@bca.gov.sg
Office Interior Ms Lee Sui Fung lee_sui_fung@bca.gov.sg
Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Restaurants Ms Lee Sui Fung lee_sui_fung@bca.gov.sg
Supermarket Mr Lim San Teng lim_san_teng@bca.gov.sg
Ms Chan Soo Cheng chan_soo_cheng@bca.gov.sg
Data Centre Mr Chou Wei Meng chou_wei_meng@bca.gov.sg
Retail Mr Kong Jia Hng kong_jia_hng@bca.gov.sg
Ms Tracy Liu tracy_liu@bca.gov.sg
Overseas Projects
New Developments
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bcai.com.sg
Overseas Projects
Existing Buildings
Mr Kong Jia Hng kong_jia_hng@bcai.com.sg
Green Mark Incentives
GM GFA Incentive
Only for GoldPlus
and Platinum project
Ms Jolene Chong jolene_chong@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (Existing Building) Ms Wendy Li wendy_li@bca.gov.sg
Mr Md Halim Anapi md_halim_anapi@bca.gov.sg
Mr Benjamin Huang benjamin_huang@bca.gov.sg
Ms Archana Balasubramaniam archana_balasubramaniam@bca.gov.sg
BREEF
Effective from 1 October 2011
Ms Zhang Xiuting zhang_xiuting@bca.gov.sg
Ms Archana Balasubramaniam archana_balasubramaniam@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (Design Prototype)
Effective from 1 December 2010
Ms Matilda Kenanga matilda_kenanga@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (New Building)
The fund is now fully committed.
Mr Ivan Lim ivan_lim@bca.gov.sg
For URA's DCD URA's DCD Enquiry Line
Tel: 62234811
Email: ura_dcd@ura.gov.sg
Legislation matters
Legislated Projects
(New buildings and existing building with major retrofitting)
GFA > 2000m2
Submission to URA from 15 Apr 2008 onwards
Ms Grace Cheok-Chan

grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg

Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Mr Jordan Liang jordan_liang@bca.gov.sg
For more information on legislation Please visit
Legislation on Environmental Sustainablility for Buildings
Enquiry on Green Products
Refer to the following approved certification bodies  
Singapore Green Building Council (SGBC)
General Information http://www.sgbc.sg/
General Enquiries on SGBC 6634 5518 enquiry@sgbc.sg
Singapore Green Building Product & Services Certification http://www.sgbc.sg/green-certifications/
SGBC Certification Directory http://www.sgbc.sg/green-certifications/online_catalogue/
Singapore Environment Council (SEC)
General Information Contact Singapore Environment Council; http://www.sec.org.sg/
Singapore Green Labelling Scheme 6337 6062 greenlabel@sec.org.sg
General Enquiries on SGLS 6337 6062 info@sec.org.sg
Green Product Certification Process http://www.sec.org.sg/awards/greenlabel/process

For information on Certification Course for Green Mark Manager and courses on sustainability (green building technology), please call : BCA Academy at 6248 9999 or visit the webpage on list of courses.


RELATED INFORMATION

BCA Green Mark Scheme Assessment Criteria and Online Application

BCA Green Mark Scheme - Verification Audit Checklist

BCA Green Mark Scheme - Terms and Conditions

BCA Green Mark Scheme - Assessment Fees

Business Case for Green Buildings in Singapore

Green Mark Gross Floor Area (GFA) Incentive Scheme

Enhanced Green Mark Incentive Scheme (GMIS-NB)

Green Mark Incentive Scheme for Existing Buildings (GMIS-EB)

Certified Green Mark Facilities Manager / Green Mark Manager / Green Mark Professional

Green Mark Logo (only for use for Green Mark Certified Buildings)

Legislation on Environmental Sustainability