Information on Construction Quality

Contact Us |   Feedback  |   Sitemap

BCA Construction Quality Assessment System CONQUAS overview




Quality workmanship is important in today's construction industry. The high quality achieved in building projects ensures future marketability and enhances the confidence of clients.

The Construction Quality Assessment System (CONQUAS â), introduced in Singapore since 1989, serves as a standard assessment system on the quality of building projects. A defacto national yardstick for the industry, CONQUAS â has been periodically fine-tuned to keep pace with changes in technology and quality demands of a more sophisticated population. In 1998, BCA introduced a number of new features to CONQUAS â resulting in the launch of CONQUAS â 21. Such refinements make CONQUAS â scoring more comprehensive and customer oriented. The latest CONQUASâ 9th edition was launched on 18 October 2016 to promote the adoption of DfMA which supports both high quality and productivity, and to ensure the score commensurate with end users expectation on workmanship quality.

By using CONQUAS â as a standardized method of quality assessment, developers are able to use the CONQUAS â score to set targets for contractors to achieve and also assess the quality of the finished building.

Today, CONQUAS â is widely recognised and also accepted internationally as a benchmarking tool for quality. Indeed, countries like UK and Hong Kong have successfully adapted CONQUAS â to their construction industries. CONQUAS â is now a registered trademark in Singapore, Malaysia, China, Hong Kong SAR, United Kingdom, Australia, South Africa and India.


The assessment consists of 3 main components:

  1. Structural Works,
2. Architectural Works
3. M&E Works.

Each component is further divided into different items for assessment. The sum of the 3 components will give the CONQUAS â score for the project.

The building is assessed based primarily on workmanship standards through site inspection. The assessment is done throughout the construction process for Structural and M&E Works and on the completed building for Architectural Works.

The assessment also includes tests on the materials and the functional performance of selected services and installation. These tests helps to safeguard the interest of building occupants in relation to safety, comfort and aesthetic defects, which surface only after sometime.


In CONQUAS â, the weightages for Structural, Architectural and M&E works are allocated according to four categories of buildings.Details on the weightages under the respective categories of buildings can be found at CONQUAS manuals.

The weightage system, which is aimed at making the CONQUAS â score objective in representing the quality of a building, is a compromise between the cost proportions of the structural, architectural and M&E works components in the various buildings and their aesthetic consideration.

The CONQUAS â score of a building is the sum of points awarded to the three components in each category of buildings.


As it is impractical to assess all elements, CONQUAs â uses a sampling system for the assessment. The sampling system, which is based on the size of the building, will ensure that the assessment adequately represents the entire building.


The samples shall be distributed as uniformly as possible throughout the construction stages. The scoring will be done on the works that are inspected for the first time. Rectification and correction carried out after the assessment will not be re-scored. The objective of this practice is to encourage "doing things right the first time".


  • Allows firm to benchmark its workmanship quality on an international basis.
  • Gives that extra competitive edge to firms that consistently deliver projects with high CONQUAS â score.
  • Good CONQUAS â score track record serves to enhance the image of the firm and ensures future marketability.


The Enhanced CONQUAS â Scheme will be introduced on 15 November 2017 for private residential projects. It will apply to all CONQUAS applications for private residential projects received on and after this date. This new scheme aims to help developers/contractors further raise the quality of their projects by covering more samples and identifying more areas for improvement.

The Enhanced CONQUAS â Scheme is applicable to:

(a) Developers or main contractors
i. with no CONQUAS track record for private residential development in the past 3 years, or
ii. has at least one private residential development with CONQUAS score below the threshold CONQUAS score#

(b) All other developers or main contractors
i. to be decided after the initial CONQUAS score## is generated


#The threshold CONQUAS score is set at the bottom 10th percentile of industry average CONQUAS score for private residential projects in the preceding year or earlier year, whichever is higher.
The current threshold CONQUAS score for FY2019 is 85.8

##The initial CONQUAS score will be derived after 20% of the required architectural internal finishes samples are completed.

Please call the CONQUAS â Enquiry line at Tel: 6730 4400 or email to for all general enquiries.

Privacy Statement  |   Terms of Use  |  Rate This Website   © 2016 Building & Construction Authority. All Rights Reserved