Home | Environmental Sustainability | About BCA Green Mark Scheme

About BCA Green Mark Scheme

INTRODUCTION


The BCA Green Mark Scheme was launched in January 2005 as an initiative to drive Singapore's construction industry towards more environment-friendly buildings. It is intended to promote sustainability in the built environment and raise environmental awareness among developers, designers and builders when they start project conceptualisation and design, as well as during construction.


BENEFITS OF GREEN MARK

BCA Green Mark provides a meaningful differentiation of buildings in the real estate market. It is a benchmarking scheme which incorporates internationally recognized best practices in environmental design and performance. This can have positive effect on corporate image, leasing and resale value of buildings. Benefits of BCA Green Mark include:

  • Facilitate reduction in energy, water and material resource usage
  • Reduce potential environmental impact
  • Improve indoor environmental quality for better health and well being and
  • Provide clearer direction for continual improvement

BCA Green Mark certification supports green buildings movement by encouraging sustainable buildings in Singapore built environment. Moving forward, BCA encourages Super Low Energy (SLE) Buildings and Healthier Workplaces.


APPLICATIONS AND ASSESSMENT PROCESS

Developers, building owners and government agencies would have to submit an application form to BCA to register their interest in participating in the BCA Green Mark Scheme.

BCA assessment team will have a preliminary meeting with the project team or building management team to brief on the criteria and request for relevant reports and documentary proofs to substantiate the subsequent submissions. The pre-assessment is optional if the project team is familiar with the criteria, save for incentive project.

Actual assessment will be conducted on a later date once the team are ready. The assessment will include design and documentary reviews as well as site verification. Documentary evidences are to be submitted at the end of the assessment. Upon completion of the assessment, a letter of award showing the certification level of the projects will be sent to the team.

Click to view BCA Green Mark Scheme Assessment Criteria and Online Application


For General Enquiries on Application and Fees, please contact

Mr Charles Ong at charles_ong@bca.gov.sg. (New Development)
Ms Rohana Haron at rohana_haron@bca.gov.sg. (Existing Buildings)
Ms Eunice Sim at eunice_sim@bca.gov.sg. (Existing Buildings)


For any clarification on the BCA Green Mark Scheme, please contact:

Category Contact Person Contact Details
New Non-Residential buildings
Mr Benjamin Towell benjamin_towell@bca.gov.sg
Mr Leow Yock Keng leow_yock_keng@bca.gov.sg
Super Low Energy (SLE) Mr Benjamin Towell benjamin_towell@bca.gov.sg
Dr Li Ruixin li_ruixin@bca.gov.sg
Mr Daniel Wang daniel_wang@bca.gov.sg
New Residential buildings Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Ms Neo Hwei Fern neo_hwei_fern@bca.gov.sg
Ms Lee Sui Fung lee_sui_fung@bca.gov.sg

Existing Non- Residential buildings

Mr Aloysius Aw aloysius_aw@bca.gov.sg
Mr Wee Kai Siong wee_kai_siong@bca.gov.sg
Existing Residential Buildings Ms Jocelyn Chua jocelyn_chua@bca.gov.sg
Landed Houses Ms Grace Cheok-Chan grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg
Ms Denise Kwok denise_kwok@bca.gov.sg
Existing Schools Ms Maisie Koh maisie_koh@bca.gov.sg
Ms Wendy Li wendy_li@bca.gov.sg
Healthcare Facilities Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bca.gov.sg
Dr Li Ruixin li_ruixin@bca.gov.sg
Infrastructure Ms Grace Cheok-Chan grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
District Ms Chris Tay chris_tay@bca.gov.sg
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Healthier Workplaces Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Mr Soh Hui Han soh_hui_han@bca.gov.sg
Office Interior Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Restaurants Ms Chan Vun Ching chan_vun_ching@bca.gov.sg
Ms Yew Wey Ling yew_wey_ling@bca.gov.sg
Supermarket Ms Chan Vun Ching chan_vun_ching@bca.gov.sg
Mr Lim San Teng lim_san_teng@bca.gov.sg
Data Centre Ms Chris Tay chris_tay@bca.gov.sg
Ms Tracy Liu tracy_liu@bca.gov.sg
Retail Ms Chan Vun Ching chan_vun_ching@bca.gov.sg
Mr Lim San Teng lim_san_teng@bca.gov.sg
Overseas Projects
New Developments
Mr Li Kunlin li_kunlin@bcai.com.sg
Ms Ong Hui Wen ong_hui_wen@bcai.com.sg
Overseas Projects
Existing Buildings
Mr Md Halim Anapi md_halim_anapi@bcai.com.sg
Green Mark Incentives
GM GFA Incentive
Only for GoldPlus
and Platinum project
Ms Giselle Seow giselle_seow@bca.gov.sg
Mr Chen Zhimin chen_zhimin@bca.gov.sg
Health Check Scheme
Energy audit to
determine the efficiency
of the air-conditioning plant
Ms Kelly Koh kelly_br_koh@bca.gov.sg
Mr Chen Zhimin chen_zhimin@bca.gov.sg
Mr Md Halim Anapi
(for technical matters)
md_halim_anapi@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (Existing Buildings and Premises)
For buildings' enquiries
Ms Giselle Seow giselle_seow@bca.gov.sg
Ms Soh Hui Han soh_hui_han@bca.gov.sg
Mr Md Halim Anapi
(for technical matters)
md_halim_anapi@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (Existing Buildings and Premises)
For tenants' enquiries
Ms Giselle Seow giselle_seow@bca.gov.sg
Mr Soh Hui Han soh_hui_han@bca.gov.sg
BREEF
Effective from 1 October 2011
Ms Zhang Xiuting zhang_xiuting@bca.gov.sg
Mr Ang Boon Wee ang_boon_wee@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (Design Prototype)
Effective from 1 December 2010
Ms Matilda Kenanga matilda_kenanga@bca.gov.sg
GMIS (New Building)
The fund is now fully committed.
Ms Kelly Koh kelly_br_koh@bca.gov.sg
Mr Soh Hui Han soh_hui_han@bca.gov.sg
For URA's DCD URA's DCD Enquiry Line
Tel: 62234811
Email: ura_dcd@ura.gov.sg
Legislation matters
For more information on New Building legislation Please visit
Regulatory Requirements for New Buildings and Existing Buildings undergoing major additions and alterations (A&A)
Legislation
(New buildings and existing building with major retrofitting)
GFA > 2000m2
Submission to URA from 15 Apr 2008 onwards
Mr Koh Kwok Soon koh_kwok_soon@bca.gov.sg
Ms Ho-Chan Vun Ching chan_vun_ching@bca.gov.sg
Ms Grace Cheok-Chan

grace_cheok-chan@bca.gov.sg

For more information on Existing Building legislation Please visit
Regulatory Requirements for Existing Buildings (where the chiller is to be installed or replaced) & Mandatory Submission of Periodic Energy Audits
Legislation
(Existing Buildings with building cooling systems installed or replaced)
Office, Retail and Hotel Buildings with GFA > 15000m2
from 2 Jan 2014 onwards
Mr Mohd Ramlan Bin Masnawi ramlan_masnawi@bca.gov.sg
Mr Aloysius Aw aloysius_aw@bca.gov.sg
Mr Wee Kai Siong wee_kai_siong@bca.gov.sg
Enquiry on Green Products
Refer to the following approved certification bodies  
Singapore Green Building Council (SGBC)
General Information https://www.sgbc.sg/
General Enquiries on SGBC 6732 5518 enquiry@sgbc.sg
Singapore Green Building Product & Services Certification https://www.sgbc.sg/sgbc-certifications/sgbp-labelling-scheme
SGBC Certification Directory https://sgbc.online/certification-directory/products/
Singapore Environment Council (SEC)
General Information Contact Singapore Environment Council; http://www.sec.org.sg/
Singapore Green Labelling Scheme 6433 5389 greenlabel@sec.org.sg
General Enquiries on SGLS 6337 6062 info@sec.org.sg
SGLS Green Product Certification https://www.sgls.sec.org.sg/

For information on Certification Course for Green Mark Manager and courses on sustainability (green building technology), please call : BCA Academy at 6248 9999 or visit the webpage on list of courses.


RELATED INFORMATION